Final Preparations

With nine days to go until I embark on the Rat Race Crossing, final preparations are well underway. The Santa Cruz 5010 has had a fork and shock service and feeling much better, some fresh tyres are in the garage ready, new chain and gear cable en route and the frame will get a full strip down, clean and re-grease.

I feel prepared, certainly physically, and have ridden/run more in the Jan-Jun period this year than last. Hopefully that will stand me in good stead but I still have never ridden for this long, this far and for three days on the trot so how my body reacts will have to be seen. Some ‘brufen, Biofreeze and a dose of man up should hopefully see me right….

It will be great to have my brother along to support me; Lynn, Emma and our friends the Everitts will then be at the finish line to help share the experience and tuck into some fish n chips on the beach 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 22.10.12
I look forward to dipping the front wheel into the sea on the 3rd July!

The sale of some unwanted bits and pieces added £140 to the donation pot; my fundraising now sits at £1844.50 to split between the Tweed Valley Mountain Rescue Team and Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance. Hopefully, as I post along the journey that will creep over the £2000 barrier; I will be very proud to present both charities with a cheque for over £1000 and I could not have done that without the amazing generosity of you so THANK YOU. The support and encouragement I have also had from family and friends has been amazing, I will try and not let you down.

 

13235502_1271350419561733_2042362533473882838_o
Friends have been a great support   Photo: Off the Back Photography

My final blog will be a kit check covering both nice and not-so-nice weather options and, like the bike review, why I have chosen certain bits. During the event (if so inclined!) you will be able to track my progress at http://racedrone.net/event/rat-race-the-crossing.

Donation page: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/CharityCrossing
Previous blogs: https://charitycrossing.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

