The daunting reality

I thought that it would be useful to get hold of the elevation cross section of the #RatRaceCrossing so that I can continue to tailor my training in a way that will help when it comes to taking on the challenge I have set myself. Oof, in a way I wish I hadn’t!! What is has done is bring the reality of the event home and actually excite me even more in a painful kind of way. Hopefully, you can also now visualise yourself what this actually means and, if you ride bikes, relate to the inevitable pain!

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 22.07.21
Day 1 – 107km, 10000ft ascent

Training the past two weeks has decreased in terms of distance figures as I am ‘on call’ for the arrival of No2 (who is now officially overdue) and, with the Tweedlove Vallelujah enduro next weekend, my rides have been more focussed on the demands of that style of riding. But, in all of this, any time on the bike is of huge benefit.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 22.09.08
Day 2 – 108 km, 6500ft ascent

It has also been inspiring to read the comments that have gone with the generous donations I have received so far; both the Tweed Valley Mountain Rescue Team and Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance have received £100 which will directly go to helping save lives. Thank you.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 22.10.12
Day 3 – 97km, 7100ft ascent

Here’s my donation page: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/CharityCrossing

Here’s why I’m doing it: https://charitycrossing.wordpress.com/about/

Thank you to ratrace.com for the information.

Leave a Reply

